The President

The President

Nagorno Karabakh is a Presidential Republic. The President is the Head of the State, elected by a popular vote, for a five-year term. The same individual cannot be elected for more than two consecutive terms. The President ensures the regular functioning of state institutions and is responsible for the formation and implementation of foreign and defence policies. In accordance with acting legislation, the President is the head of the executive branch of the government. He appoints the State Minister and approves the structure and composition of the Government.

The presidential form of governance was introduced by the Parliament of the Republic of Mountainous Karabakh in December 1994.  The Parliament elected Robert Kocharyan President of RMK (NKR).

Robert Kocharyan's inauguration ceremony. 

The first direct presidential elections were held in the NKR on November 24, 1996. 78 per cent of voters participated in the internationally monitored elections in which Robert Kocharyan was elected NKR president. 

Following Robert Kocharyan’s appointment to the post of Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia, an early presidential election was held on September 1, 1997. 

Arkady Ghukasyan's inauguration ceremony. 

84.6 per cent of the voters participated in the election which was again monitored by international observers from several countries. Arkady Ghukasyan was elected NKR president. He was re-elected in the third presidential elections held on August 11, 2002, when 75.7 per cent of the voters came to the polling stations and as in all the preceding elections, international observers assessed the elections positively.


Bako Sahakyan's inauguration ceremony. 

The fourth presidential elections took place on July 19, 2007. International observers confirmed that the Nagorno-Karabakh electoral legislation provided sufficient guarantees to the electoral rights of its citizens, and noted the existence and active functioning of a spectrum of public and political organizations, that voting procedures were carried out in complete accordance with the Electoral Code and the elections were free and fair. Bako Sahakyan was elected Nagorno-Karabakh’s third president with 85% of the votes. He was re-elected in 2012.


Arayik Harutunyan's inauguration ceremony. 

The sixth and latest election took place on March 31, 2020․ At its second tour held on April 14th Arayik Harutyunyan, nominated for the post of Artsakh Republic President by “Azat Hayreniq – UCA” coalition, became President of the Republic of Artsakh with votes of 88 percent of citizens having participated in the elections.