The Government

The Government 

The Government is the collegial body of the executive power supporting the implementation of the powers of the President of the Republic.

The Government (the Cabinet) is composed of the State Minister and Ministers. Meetings of the Government are convened and chaired by the Republic's President. Upon the authorization of the President, the State Minister may chair the meetings of the Government. The Government adopts resolutions that are signed and made public by the President. The Government adopts secondary regulatory legal acts.

The President approves the decisions of the Government to appoint and release heads of regional government bodies with the exception of the mayor of the capital city Stepanakert, as the latter is an elective office. 

The current Government comprises the State Minister, the Ministries of Agriculture; Defence; Education, Science, Culture and Sports; Finance and Economy; Foreign Affairs; Healthcare; Internal Affairs; Justice; Social Development and Migration; Territorial Administration and Infrastructures, Urban Planning (, as well as state governing bodies, such as the National Security Service, Cadaster and State Property Management Committee; Committee on Material Damages; State Revenue Committee; State Supervision Service; Water Committee ( (

The new building of the Government of the Republic of Artsakh. 

Local governance

Local self-government in the NKR is realized in accordance with the Law “On the Election of Bodies of Local Governance”, adopted in January, 1998. Elections for the first local self-governing bodies were held in September, 1998. Subsequent regular elections were held in 2001, 2004, 2007, 2011, 2015, 2019, 2021 and 2022.